InnoHosting
US: 1-888-522-INNO
UK: 0800-612-8075
Products Management
Posted by Chris W. on 06 July 2008 10:13 PM

Managing a Clients Products/Services

You can manage a clients products/services from their Clients Profile. Being by going to Clients > View/Search Clients. Locate the client you wish to manage and click their name. You will be taken to the Clients Summary page. From here, click the Product/Services tab at the top of the clients profile. You will then be able to see the details for the first of the clients products/services.

You can change the product/service you are viewing using the dropdown at the top of the page. As soon as you change the selection of the dropdown box, the page will refresh to show the details for that item. Clients can have an unlimited number of products/services. The same applies for Domains.

You may make changes to any of the fields on the page and then click the Save Changes button at the bottom of the page to confirm the changes.

Running Module Commands

If the product/service is linked to a module, it will also show a row towards the bottom of the page of Module Actions you can perform. These often include functions like Create, Suspend, Unsuspend, Terminate & Change Password but it depends on the module the item is linked to.

Automated Upgrades/Downgrades

With the automated upgrading & downgrading features in WHMCS, your clients can upgrade or downgrade the products and packages they have with you from the client area. When they place an upgrade or downgrade order, they will be refunded what they haven't used of the current cycle on the existing product/service and then charged a full term of the new product/service they upgrade or downgrade to.

In order to place an upgrade/downgrade order, the client has to login to the client area, go to My Hosting Packages or My Products/Services, click the View Details button next to the product or service they wish to manage and then click on the buttons to either upgrade the Package or upgrade the Configurable Options.

Package Upgrades Configuration

In order to allow clients to upgrade and downgrade their package, you need to configure exactly which products can be upgraded and downgraded to from each of your packages. This is done in Configuration > Products/Services on the "Upgrades" tab of the product configuration.

To select multiple products that can upgraded/downgraded to, hold the Ctrl key while selecting the products in the list.

Configurable Options Upgrades Configuration

With the configurable options upgrade configuration, this allows your clients to upgrade or downgrade the configurable option selections you offer on the product. You do not need to specify any furthur configuration for this - by simply ticking the box the upgrade options will be shown to the client in the client area.

Cancellation Process

From the clients area, clients can request cancellation of any of their products & services. Once requested, you will receive notification by email and you will be able to review the reason provided in Clients > Cancellation Requests. The requests are divided into two categories - Open & Completed. The user is provided 2 choices for the cancel request when submitting - either instant cancellation or at the end of the current billing cycle.

Automated processing of the requests can be enabled in Config > Automation Settings. Alternatively, you can handle the cancellations manually by going to Clients > Cancellation Requests, click the product name which links to the users details for the product and then use the suspend/terminate commands there to cancel the account.

Moving a Product/Service to another Client

To move a product/service to another client, first navigate to the product or services page in the existing clients profile. Next, click the link on the top right of the page which says "Move Product/Service to Another Client". After clicking this link a popup box will appear (you will need popup blockers disabled to use this). From here, all you do is select the new owners name and then click the Transfer button. The item will then be transferred, the window will close, and the original window will refresh to show the product under its new owner.

Deleting a Product/Service from a Client

To delete a product/service, first navigate to the product or services page in the clients profile. Once here, scroll to the bottom of the page where under the Save button you will see a Delete link in red as shown below. After clicking this link, you will be asked to confirm if you really want to delete the item. If you click No you will be returned to the page, if you click Yes, the item will be deleted and you will be taken to another product/service under that client.

Note: When deleting the product from WHMCS, it will not terminate the account on the server. If you want to do that, you must use the Module Terminate function before deleting the record from WHMCS.


(472 vote(s))
Helpful
Not helpful

Comments (0)